The steep granite strewn slopes surround the fast-flowing River Par contain an extraordinary concentration of early 19th century industrial remains, unique in South West Britain. It is also unusual within Cornwall in that it represents the landscape realisation of one man's vision - Joseph Treffry (1782 - 1850) who was one of the greatest single mines adventurer in Cornwall at the time.
Copper mining was booming and Treffry built a canal to link his Fowey Consols mine to the port of Par. A tramway, using an inclined plane, towards Luxulyan enabled him to develop granite quarries in the valley. The tramway was later extended to the north coast at Newquay where the, now closed, line reached the harbour via a tunnel.
Friends of Luxulyan Valley arrange a number of special walks and other activities through the year